Getting a driver’s license is both a right of passage and an enormous responsibility. Today’s teenagers can’t wait to jump through all the hoops—reaching the magic age of 16, getting their parents or guardians to sign for the permit, practicing driving with a permit and an adult for 180 days, and passing the driving skills test—so they can finally drive.
But a license in the hands of a 16-year-old Kentucky driver does not translate to unbounded freedom. There are strict laws for intermediate drivers that, among other things, limit teenagers’ driving time (i.e., no driving between midnight and 6 a.m. without good cause) and the number of unrelated passengers allowed in the teenage driver’s vehicle (only one). Of course, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is strictly prohibited.
Sixteen- and seventeen-year-old drivers can have their licenses suspended under the “No Pass/No Drive” law if they drop out of school or let their grades drop. Further, Kentucky has a points system that assigns penalty points of varying degrees for traffic violations.
Of course, as every Kentucky driver knows (or should know), limitations on driving don’t disappear after age 18. There are many laws designed to keep our streets and highways safe; those operating motor vehicles are expected to obey them in order to enjoy the privilege of driving in this Commonwealth. Any violation can result in points being applied to a driver’s record, and too many points can, at the least, result in higher insurance rates, and, at the worst, result in the suspension of the driver’s license.
Do you live in Kentucky and have one or more violations on your driving record? Are you concerned about a possible license suspension? Have you recently received a traffic citation? If you answered yes to any of these questions, contact Kentucky traffic offense lawyer Dan Carman at (859) 685-1055. He can review the facts surrounding your charges and help prepare a defense designed to preserve your driving privileges.
Why Choose Us?
We Know How to Defend Traffic Tickets in Kentucky
In theory a traffic violation may seem like a minor inconvenience. But, in reality, these tickets can be costly and ultimately impact your right to legally drive. Engaging the right traffic ticket lawyer can help you defend yourself and protect your future.
Choosing the right attorney is your first course of action. You want to ensure the firm you engage has the knowledge and experience to best help you.
Led by Attorney Dan Carman, our firm is well-positioned to provide you the hands-on service you need. Mr. Carman has been practicing law for over 15 years. Part of his experience includes working as a prosecutor; he knows how traffic crimes are handled by the courts and leverages this experience to defend them. Additionally, he is quite familiar with the local prosecutors and judges; he knows what to expect.
Our team’s knowledge regarding traffic law is considerable; we have been defending those accused of these crimes for years.
Finally, we have a reputation for providing clients the highest quality service. Not only do we have a history of success, but we are also well-known for our considerate and personal approach. While many dismiss traffic tickets as minor inconveniences, we appreciate the important impact they can have on your life. Thus, we treat them with the seriousness they deserve.
The combination of our experience, knowledge and approach has earned us a stellar reputation in the community. We give each case our complete attention. If you have received a citation, reach out to us today to schedule a free consultation.
Helping You Is Our Primary Goal
What Our Traffic Ticket Attorney Will Do for You
Successfully defending a traffic citation requires a number of actions, all of which we handle for you. When you engage our firm to defend you, you can rest assured we will:
- Review the details on the ticket
- Actively listen to your account of the situation, including what the police officers said and did
- Efficiently investigate the incident and gather evidence (including locations of road signs, etc.)
- Review the police report, recordings and testing logs
- Interview witnesses
- Determine and build a solid defense
- Represent you in court.
We provide you personal and professional representation, taking the time necessary to fully investigate your case, build a defense, and provide you exceptional representation. Engaging us as your traffic attorney is making an investment in your future. Your well-being is our primary concern, and we will leverage our knowledge and experience to protect it.
Understanding Kentucky Traffic Crimes
There are a host of traffic violations with which drivers in Kentucky are commonly charged. The penalties for each vary, depending upon the offense and its level of severity. Below our traffic ticket lawyer summarizes these factors.
Most Common Traffic Violations
Kentucky’s traffic laws cover offenses ranging from the most obvious, like speeding, to the not so obvious, like failure to yield right of way to a funeral procession, or vehicle abandonment. Common offenses include:
Speeding – Where no speed limit is posted, Kentucky’s laws limit speeds to 15 miles per hour (mph) in off-street parking facilities, 35 mph in residential areas and inside town limits, 55 mph on open highways and limited access highways in urban areas, and 65 mph on rural interstate and limited-access highways.
Reckless Driving – Driving too fast for road conditions, having too many passengers in the car, changing drivers while the vehicle is in motion, switching lanes erratically in traffic, and failing to yield are all examples of reckless driving.
Driving with a Suspended License – In Kentucky, driver’s licenses can be suspended for several reasons, including having too many moving violations, DUI convictions, driving without insurance, using a motor vehicle to commit a crime, and using your license or someone else’s for an illegal purchase of alcohol.
Driving with an Expired License – In state, driver’s licenses are valid for four years. The license of a person under the age of 21 expires 90 days after their 21st birthday; the license of anyone 21 and older expires 31 days after their birthdate.
Driving Without Insurance – Kentucky law in 2012 toughened the penalties for drivers caught driving without insurance. Insurance companies are now required to submit to the state a monthly list of vehicle identification (VIN) numbers of the vehicles they insure that are registered to Kentucky owners. Drivers who are shown to have been without insurance for more than 60 days are issued notices and must show proof of insurance within 30 days of the notice.
Leaving the Scene of An Accident – Kentucky law requires the operator of any vehicle, if that vehicle, vehicle load, or vehicle equipment was involved in an accident that resulted in someone’s death or injury, or resulted in damage to another vehicle or property, to stop immediately and ascertain the extent of the injury or damage and to render reasonable assistance.
If you received a ticket for any of the above violations, engaging a Kentucky traffic violations lawyer is a wise course of action.
Possible Fines and Points
Points (which accumulate with subsequent violations) can raise your insurance rates and ultimately result in the suspension of your drivers’ license; and the assessment of fines (which vary depending upon the seriousness of your violation) are common penalties for traffic tickets. Below, our traffic ticket lawyer discusses the range of these penalties with regard to each specific violation.
Speeding – Speeding fines vary, depending on how many miles per hour over the speed limit the driver was going and where the violation occurred. Going 10 miles over the limit results in a $20 fine and no points if it occurred on a limited-access highway, but 3 points if it happened on any other road. Speeding between 11 and 15 mph over the limit results in 3 points on the driver’s record, and fines ranging from $22 to $30. Drivers between 16 and 25 mph over the limit have 6 points added to their record and fines from $28 to $55. A driver charged with speeding 26 mph over the posted limit is headed to hearing, faces $60 to $100 in fines, and may have his license suspended. If the speeding occurred in a highway work zone or in a school zone with lights flashing, the fine will be doubled.
Reckless Driving – Charges of reckless driving can result in fines ranging from $20 to $100 or more, court costs, and 3 or 4 points added to one’s driving record.
Driving With a Suspended License –This Class B misdemeanor can result in jail time of 90 days and a fine of $250, but no points added to the driver’s record. Simply failing to surrender a suspended license can result in the same penalties as driving with the suspended license.
Driving With an Expired License – Being charged with failure to renew a license to drive can result in a fine of $250 and court costs, but no points assessed. Similarly, having an expired registration plate, an improper registration plate, an improperly displayed registration plate, or displaying an illegal or altered registration plate can result in a fine of $250 plus court costs.
Driving Without Insurance – Simply failing to produce an insurance card when requested by law enforcement can result in a fine of $250 plus court costs. The failure of an owner to maintain insurance, when it’s a first offense, can result in $500 to $1,000 in fines, plus court costs, a one-year suspension of driving privileges, and up to 90 days in jail. For a second offense, an owner faces $1,000 to $2,500 in fines, plus court costs, six months to one year of license suspension, and up to 180 days in jail. Operators of vehicles other than their own who don’t have proper insurance face similar penalties, except that that operator does not face license suspension for a first-time offense. Failure to maintain insurance is a Class B misdemeanor.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident – A driver who leaves the scene of an accident without rendering aid or assistance (essentially committing a hit-and-run offense) has committed a Class A misdemeanor and faces $20 to $2,000 in fines, payment of court costs, the possibility of one year in jail, and 6 points added to his or her driving record. Leaving the scene of an accident without rendering aid when a death or serious physical injury has occurred is a Class D Felony. That driver faces $20 to $2,000 in fines, court costs, having 6 points added to his or her record, and possibly one year behind bars.
What You Should Do if You’re Charged with a Traffic Offense?
Contact a Kentucky Traffic Violations Lawyer
If you have been charged with any driving offense in Kentucky, consider speaking with a qualified traffic ticket attorney. While some offenses are relatively minor, one or more committed in a short period of time may result in the loss of your right to drive, depending on the offense and the number of points on your record.
In addition to possibly having your license suspended, you face having to ask for time off from work to appear in traffic court, pay fines, and otherwise address your situation. Since your livelihood may depend on maintaining a good attendance record in order to keep your job, asking for time off can create problems.
The right to drive is often necessary both to work and to manage family responsibilities. Resolving these problems efficiently and effectively protects both you and your family.
Our Firm Is Ready to Go to Work for You Today
Traffic violations need to be addressed in a timely fashion. Not responding in the required time frame can result in even more serious penalties. Don’t hesitate to take action.
If you have been charged with a traffic offense in Lexington or anywhere else in Kentucky, talk with Dan Carman today. As a qualified Lexington traffic offense lawyer, he will review the charges and prepare a defense designed to clear your record and help you maintain the privilege of driving. Contact Dan at (859) 685-1055, or complete his online contact form to schedule a free consultation and learn just how powerfully he can support you.